musekrot.blogg.se

Century arms l1a1 sporter rifle
Century arms l1a1 sporter rifle













The rear sight is a peep-style, and it can be adjusted between 200 yards all the way up to 600 yards, but the. Well, the folks at Century Arms did an outstanding job on this particular sample, and I well-pleased for the most part. Now, one would be led to believe, that such a mixed bag of original military inch versus original military metric versus US-made commercial parts simply wouldn’t work properly. The left-side mounted charging handle is the folding type – inch pattern – which I prefer. The lower fire-control group is a mixed bag of original Australian, British and US made parts.(The latter are for Section 922(r) compliance. The bolt and bolt carrier in the upper receiver are inch pattern – you can interchange inch and metric bolts and bolt carriers. The stock, pistol grip, gas piston and forearm are all US made, in order to meet the stupid FedGov regulations pertaining to the number of foreign made parts, versus US made parts in these types of firearms.

century arms l1a1 sporter rifle

The lower receiver is inch pattern, and near as I can determine in my research, the lower is from an Australian-made L1A1 rifle (inch pattern). Quite frankly, the folks at Century Arms did an outstanding job on this particular rifle, as it is fitted nicely and the finish is great – a nice, gray Parkerizing over all the metal parts. My Century Arms R1A1 is a combination of inch and metric parts on a brand-new metric receiver and new American-made barrel. I won’t go into all the details of the differences between an inch and a metric FAL (and, “FAL” is a generic term for the purpose of this article.) However, many parts interchange between the guns – not all parts, but many do. The FALs that Century Arms manufactures are what a lot of folks call “FrankenFALs” because they are assembled using both metric and inch parts from various guns. At a gun show in Portland, Oregon they traded into a Century Arms R1A1, and they knew they had it sold to me as soon as I walked in the door following the gun show. My local gun shop knows my fondness for anything AK, AR, FAL and other similar types of rifles. Some people say it’s a crap shoot to purchase any Century Arms products,but I have to disagree. I’ve owned at least half a dozen, or more, versions of Century’s AKs and loved them all. There is lots of chatter on the ‘net about how poorly the Century Arms AK-47s are made. However, I’ve been extremely lucky in this respect, and I’ve had outstanding luck with most guns from Century Arms – their CETME being the exception – I’ve owned several and they were junk. Yes, I know the reputation that Century Arms has when it comes to assembling some of their rifles from parts kits, onto new receivers and new barrels. Last I heard, the gun had passed hands several times. However in a moment of weakness, I later sold it – one of those decisions I regretted the moment I did it.

century arms l1a1 sporter rifle

Too bad, Springfield Armory doesn’t make their version any longer, it was an outstanding rifle in all respects.Ībout 10 tears ago, I purchased a used Century Arms ( L1A1-model “inch pattern” FAL style rifle from a gun shop in Boise, Idaho – it was an outstanding shooter. I’ve owned a few FAL-style rifles over the years, and I reviewed the Springfield Armory version on SurvivalBlog last year. I first carried one when I was in Rhodesia, back in 1976. I’ve been a huge fan of the FN/FAL style of battle rifle for many years.















Century arms l1a1 sporter rifle